Image

Mapping My Internet Use

In my ECMP355 class, we were asked to map out our use of the internet. We were asked if we were more residents or visitors to the sites we used and if it was more personal or institutional/professional. Below my map are the reasons why I put the websites/tools where I did.

photo

Facebook: For me, Facebook is personal and I am definitely a resident. I post statuses and pictures as well as comment on other people’s pictures and wall. I am on there a lot even if it’s just looking at everything.

Instagram: Instagram is another thing that I consider personal and residential. I share lots of pictures and like/comment on others’. I’m not as intense with Instagram as I am Facebook but it’s close.

Hotmail: I put hotmail on the personal/visitor side. I used to use it as my main email but now all that I use it for is mainly just to sign up on different websites. I like to call it my “junk” email because the majority of the emails sent to it are junk. I really only go on that account if I forget passwords or just to delete a bunch of stuff.

Kijiji: I put this in between resident and visitor because I often just search for things but I also sometimes post things on there. I put it a bit farther down the personal line because I sometimes will post textbooks.

Pinterest: I would like to consider myself a resident of this website because I am ALWAYS on it, but I realized I don’t really post much on it. I mainly just look at different pins and if I like it, I will screen shot it on my iPad rather than pin it to a board. It is close to the halfway point between personal and institutional because I also look up educational pins and not just personal, although personal overthrows educational.

YouTube: YouTube is slowly making its way to both the resident and institutional areas. I usually just watch funny videos or listen to music, but I am starting to watch more educational videos and posting my own videos.

Netflix: This is on my personal and visitor side. I watch Netflix A LOT for my own personal use and then just leave (even though it’s not that easy…)

Songza: I just use this to listen to music when I am cleaning my house, driving, doing homework, etc.

Google (searching): I am constantly using Google to search for things. I look up all sorts of things that are both for personal and institutional use. I just take what I need and go.

Gmail: Gmail is in the middle of everything. Any emails from my employer go here as well as all my school email. Now that I have Google+, I get a lot of emails from there. I also send personal emails from Gmail. It’s my go-to email.

WordPress: I am becoming more of a resident with WordPress. I created a blog last semester and was required to post throughout the semester. I was also required to comment on other blogs and ask questions. The same goes for ecmp355. I have it close to the halfway point to personal because I feel that I also learn from my blog and other’s blogs in a way that could be considered personal as well as institutional.

Evernote: The majority of the time that I use Evernote is for school. I use it so I can type my notes on my iPad and then read them on my laptop or phone. I do occasionally use it for personal stuff so that I can transfer things from device to device, but it is rare.

Google+: As of right now, Google+ is just institutional as I only use it for ECMP355. It is in between visitor and resident because I am somewhat just using it to get what I need and leave but I am also starting to post more and participate in the discussions. It will definitely be more on the resident side after this course.

UR Courses: UR courses is down by the institutional side because I only use it for university. I usually just go onto it, get what I need, and leave. Sometimes I use it to contact classmates or check out the discussion pages so that’s why it’s not completely over by visitor.

Twitter: I am starting to tweet more than I used to so I am slowly becoming a resident on Twitter but I am still on the visitor side of it. I basically only use it for school so that is why I would consider it more institutional.

5 thoughts on “Mapping My Internet Use

  1. Carolyn Fluter says:

    I noticed you and I are the opposite as far as Netflix goes! I use it quite often rather than cable now. I like that you can create a list of movies/shows you want to watch, so you don’t lose track of them!

    I was also wondering.. What is Songza?! Is that similar to Grooveshark?! Where you can listen to playlists for free? Can you use it in your car or just when connected to Wifi?

    • I’m not too sure what Grooveshark is, I’ll have to check that out! But yes, on Songza you can listen to playlists for free. On the main page, you can decide what kind of mood you are in for the time of day and it will have some playlists you can choose from, or you can search for your own! It has to be connected to wifi or you can download an app for it and play it from your phone. I love it! Especially when I don’t have specific songs I want to listen to!!

    • The way that I use Evernote is basically like an online notebook. You can create different “notebooks”, essentially folders, and type your notes. You can download it to your computer and Apple products (I’m not sure about Android, but most likely) and have everything synced together. For example, I used to write all my notes for my Anthro class on my iPad. I could immediately see them on my phone or go home on my laptop and read what I had typed in class. It just made it convenient for me. I know there are other ways to use Evernote to like copy pictures/pages but I didn’t use it for that so I don’t know how to do that 🙂 But after watching the meeting with Michael Wacker, I may just make Google Docs for my notes in the future!

Leave a Reply

