Views on my Blog

Last night, I was poking around WordPress just to explore it and try to learn more about how it works and whatnot. While doing this, I found something that I thought was very interesting.

I could see the views on my blog by country! Normally I probably wouldn’t be really excited but I had views from outside of Canada! The majority of my views were in Canada which was expected since it would be classmates and profs looking at my blog. What really got me was that I had 13 views from the United States since I’ve had my blog and 5 of them were from this past week. I also had 3 views from Australia which I am assuming was Sue Waters. Nonetheless it was still an amazing feeling! Especially since I wasn’t expecting it, and it meant that people were actually seeing what I was posting! I still just assumed that only the people from my classes were the ones looking at my blog.

If you have a WordPress blog and want to check out your views by country but aren’t sure how, here’s an easy way to do it:

  • Log in to wordpress.com
  • Click on STATS at the top of the screen
  • You will then see VIEWS BY COUNTRY just a bit down the screen
  • Click on SUMMARIES and then just go from there!

I just wanted to share this experience of excitement that I had! It was a great feeling to see that “outside people” were checking out my blog

2 thoughts on “Views on my Blog

  1. Carolyn Fluter says:

    Wow that’s awesome! I’m interested to know if I can view the same on my edublog.. Do you know anything about that?

    • Hey Carolyn! To be honest, I have no clue! I’m not sure how the home page of edublogs looks when you sign in and if it has the same options, if so, you could try the way I did it. If not, I would definitely ask Sue! 🙂

Leave a Reply

