Learning About Blogging

For my ECMP355 class, we had Sue Waters as a guest speaker to talk to us about blogging. Sue had many great tips for us to improve our blogs, most of which I had already played around with in my ECS210 class last semester but her tips were in better detail.

Some things that I learned and implemented:

  • I created new pages on my blog so that it is easier to navigate. I created a page for ECMP355 where all my posts for the class will go as well as sub-pages for specific topics such as tech tasks or weekly reflections.
  • I learned a bit more about categories. Last week I played around with them because I had no idea what they were for. I created some categories and organized all my posts in the categories. Sue helped me to verify that what I was doing was more or less correct and I knew I was on the right track
  • I also learned how to make headings in my posts so that it is easier for viewers to read, as well as put pictures in my blog that have proper attribution. I have not implemented these just yet, but I plan on doing it in my future posts
3 thoughts on “Learning About Blogging

  1. baileydevin says:

    I also learned so much from Sue! Just like you said, I have played around with the blog a bit in ECS 210, but Sue was a much better guide to the site! That’s a good idea to create a page for ECMP 355, and then sub-pages within that. I tried to create a page for my tech tasks, weekly reflections, etc., but when I went to add categories it seemed to change the set-up of my blog. When I created categories the blog created a shortened version of my post on the ‘Home’ page with a link that took me to the full post, and this didn’t seem right. Do you have any suggestions as to how I could correct that? If you can make sense of this post that is haha.

    • Hmm, I’m not sure how to fix that. Maybe it’s just what the theme of your blog does automatically? I wish that I could’ve been more help, but maybe ask Sue 🙂

  2. Glad my session helped! Image attribution does take a bit of time to work but is an important skill because it is something that you need to share with students. When you are ready this is the post you need to refer to – http://teacherchallenge.edublogs.org/2013/10/05/step-7-images-copyright-and-creative-commons/

    Well done Alyshia with setting up links to your categories in your custom menu. This is more advanced blogging skills and even experienced bloggers often need my help to set up.

    @Bailey the best option is for me to set up the custom menu for you. Would you like me to log into your blog to help?

Leave a Reply

